If you loved reading A Song of Ice And Fire series (Game of Thrones). It means you love epic fantasies. I know because I do too. I love to read action-packed drama with complex characters and outstanding world-building books.

Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones
Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones.
Photo from Mentatdgt.

Despite the gut-wrenching death of many loved characters, some epic fantasy readers still love Game of Thrones. Even with the way the finale of the TV show was messed up.

As an epic fantasy reader, you are probably itching to read another series. A series that would take you on the fantastic journeys just like Game of Thrones. Maybe you have tried some epic fantasy books that did not meet up to your expectations. Don’t worry, I’m here to make it all better with this list.

Some of these epic fantasy books are just as amazing as Game of Thrones while some are even better.

1) Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones To Read: The Malazan Book of The Fallen By Steven Erikson

Malazan has it all. Magic system, characters, lore, history, politics, and it was done perfectly. I just started this series and I have not gotten through it all. This series has 15 books in total. The stories are set in multiple continents with exceptional plots. Malazan is perfect for epic fantasy lovers willing to read more books like Game of Thrones.

Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones
Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones.
Photo from Goodreads.

2) Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones To Read: The Broken Empire By Mark Lawrence

If you love anti-heros and dark fantasy, the Broken Empire is the book for you. This series is the revenge story of a privileged prince turned leader of a ruthless gang. In the books, the prince attempts to take back what he lost.

You might not like the protagonist of this book. He is vile and scary. He sees everyone as an object. This book is not for the faint of heart. But, as someone who loves Game of Thrones, you might find this book intriguing. I should say this, I did not like the protagonist; he was pure evil. If he was the antagonist, I would have loved how well he was written.

Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones

3) Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones To Read: Wheel of Time By Robert Jordan

If you like books with a world that expands beyond imagination, Wheel of Time is the book for you. This series has sixteen books, and the world is massive. It is like Game of Thrones in so many ways, but I believe it is so much better. It has a variety of strong characters with easy to understand magic system.

The story begins when a village, the two rivers, is attacked. Five villagers who know nothing about the outside world flee for their safety. On their journey, they discover things about themselves and the world. If you love Game of Thrones and you need something like it. This epic fantasy will give you that and more.

Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones

4) Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones To Read: Lord of The Rings Series By J. R. R. Tolkein

“My precious”. I feel like it is an insult to epic fantasy readers to add this to the list. But for those who have not read this series, the time to read it has come. If you are into epic battle scenes and adrenaline rush, almost death scenes. Lord of the Rings is the book. Game of Thrones has nothing on this series in terms of character arcs and world-building.

This epic fantasy story follows the journey of the Fellowship of the Ring. A group of people on a quest to destroy the One Ring.

Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones

5) Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones To Read: Ember In The Ashes By Sabaa Tahir

“The field of battle is my temple. The sword point is my priest. The dance of death is my prayer. The killing blow is my release.” If you like to read about crazy out of their mind rulers. You will find one in this book. This epic fantasy is like Game of Thrones because it is action-packed with warring houses.

The world-building is not as vast as Game of Thrones, but the plot is captivating. The magic system is pretty simple with few people possessing special abilities.

This epic fantasy is set in a brutal Rome-like world with one Empire dominating others. It has a well developed military school training killers loyal only to the Emperor.

Epic Fantasy Like Game of Thrones

If you love Game of Thrones and you are itching to read epic fantasy books. Try out some of these books.