Fire breathing-awesome fantastic beasts. That is what dragons are. They give stories beautiful spins that make readers think we can keep them as pets. But that would be a death wish in reality. Still, if they were real, I would definitely want one.

Books About Dragons.
Books About Dragons.
Credit: Craig Adderley

I’m always fascinated by the raw power dragons have. They are fantastic beasts. If you love dragon stories as much as I do, read the books on the list below.

1) Beloved Fantastic Beast Book, Shape-shifting Dragons: Seraphina By Rachel Hartman

This a children’s book about human and dragon relationships. In this book, dragons can shape-shift into humans. This book is set in a world where humans and dragons are at war. At the point where they decide to sign a treaty, something bad happens.

In this book, dragons are clever and calculative. They are ruled by a council that keeps everything in control. I like how this book explores the relationship between the two races.

Books About Dragons.
Books About Dragons.
Credit: Goodreads.

2) Beloved Fantastic Beast Book, Main Character Dragons: Tooth And Claw By Jo Walton

You could say this is a Victorian-inspired romance book. Except the main characters are fantastic beasts with sharp claws and huge teeth. I was a little skeptical about this book, but reading it showed that the author thought outside the box. Instead of humans, why not dragons? Instead of creatures who live with humans, why don’t they live like humans?. It is a beautiful story about courtship, family and survival.

Books About Dragons.
Books About Dragons.
Photo from Goodreads.

3) Beloved Fantastic Beast Book, Companion Dragons: Temeraire By Naomi Novik

This series takes the reader on a journey with sailors and their dragons. In these books, sailors ride dragons instead of ships and the fantastic beasts are weapons of war. Since dragons are companions they are treated differently in different societies. In some societies, they are recognized as citizens. But in others, they are just beasts used as warships.

Books About Dragons.
Books About Dragons.
Photo from Goodreads.

4) Beloved Fantastic Beast Book, Companion Dragons: The Rain Wild Chronicles By Robin Hobb

This trilogy focuses on the relationship between dragons and humans. The dragons have unique abilities and can create psychic bonds with humans. The dragons in these books are cunning and they use their psychic bond to coerce humans. But, they can also become friends with humans. The special thing about the dragons and human relationship is how dragons can change a human. If dragons take a human under their wing, they can change the human.

Books About Dragons.
Books About Dragons.
Photo from Goodreads.

5) Beloved Fantastic Beast Book, Companion Dragons: Eragon series By Christopher Paolini.

In Eragon, these fantastic beasts have human companions called dragon riders. Dragons are connected to their riders. The egg of a dragon would hatch when he/she meets the rider. The twist to this relationship is that as a rider draws his/her last breath, so does the dragon. But, if the dragon dies, the rider can still live a long life.

Books About Dragons.

6) Beloved Fantastic Beast Book, Villain Dragons: The Hobbit By J. R. R. Tolkien

This book has only one dragon, and he is the villain. He is a firedrake dragon believed to be the last great dragon to exist in Middle-earth. This fantastic beast, Smaug, is just cruel. Smaug invaded the Dwarf kingdom and made their mountain his territory. In the mountain, he chased the dwarfs out of Smaug hoards their gold. He burns anyone who tries to steal the gold. Ironic right? I love Smaug because he is hoarding gold that he cannot spend.

Books About Dragons.

If you love dragons any of the books above should be a great read for you.