Frank E. Peretti is an acclaimed Christian author of supernatural thriller novels. If you have not read his work, try my top 5 picks.

Reading a Peretti Modern-Classic Christian Novel
Reading a Peretti Modern-Classic Christian Novel
Photo by Porapak Apichodilok from Pexels

Frank Peretti, a New York Times best-selling author, was born on January 13, 1951. He was born with cystic hygroma, which caused deformation and speech problems. Frank Peretti identified with monsters and became fascinated by them. His novels reflect a deep understanding of life, humanity, and the supernatural.

Why I Love Frank Peretti Novels

Peretti has a profound ability to make the unseen, perceptible.

My mother introduced me to Peretti’s novels, showing me how he dealt with more profound spiritual matters. Some people worship Frank Peretti. Though I don’t consider his books the best things since sliced bread, I find them to be significant Christian literature pieces. I would include most of them into the modern-Christian-classics.

Christian literature differs from other writing – or rather, it should. Peretti has a profound ability to make the unseen, perceptible. He reminds us that there is more to life than the material world, and he entertains and enlightens with his remarkable writing. Here are my favorite Frank Peretti novels, in no particular order.

The Oath

The Oath by Frank E. Peretti
The Oath by Frank E. Peretti

The town of Hyde River has been keeping a sinister secret for 100 years. Outsider Steve Benson will stop at nothing to find the creature that murdered his brother. His search unsettles everyone and people die one after another as Steven hunts for the animal.

Only one man sees the truth. Only one man is safe, and it is not Steve Benson. A town is on the edge of death, oblivious to the danger they claimed as a pet. Can he conquer this beast? Can he save himself and the town who hates him?

This book is an allegory. From cover to cover, it is rich in symbolism. A satisfying read for anyone who likes to think deeper about life. It was published in 1995 by Word Publishing and in 1996, it received the Gold Medallion Book Award for Best Fiction.

The Darkness Dilogy

This Present Darkness is a story about the small town of Ashton. Demonic forces try to take over the town and use a new-age cult to do so. The cult imprisons two innocent men, and a woman who escapes. They set an unseen war for truth and freedom in motion.

In Piercing the Darkness, the war continues in Bacon’s Corner. The demonic forces and the cult work together to target a local church. They take the pastor’s children away from him while the war for truth and freedom rages on. Meanwhile, Ashton and Bacon’s Corner join forces.

Peretti made a name for himself with this dilogy. The first book was published in 1986 and the second in 1988. In 1990, Piercing the Darkness received the ECPA Gold Medallion Book Award for Best Fiction. Over thirty years later, these modern-classic Christian novels are still being printed.


Monster by Frank E. Peretti
Monster by Frank E. Peretti

A mysterious monster kidnaps Beck Shelton during a camping trip with her husband. Her husband searches for her with the help of the town and a few friends. Beck can only survive for so long, if she’s even still alive.

However, everything is not as it seems. Will they discover the truth in time to save Beck? Something is killing people. Something is hunting the search party – it is a survival of the fittest.

Monster was published in 2005 by WestBow Press. Peretti wrote this book as a critique against science, successfully inspiring in the reader a deep appreciation for the creation of God. He interweaves his knowledge of ethics and repercussions ingeniously in Monster.


Prophet by Frank E. Peretti
Prophet by Frank E. Peretti

John Barret is a successful anchorman for NewsSix at Five. He catches his producer fabricating news and after hearing mysterious voices and the “accidental” murder of his outspoken father, he sets out to uncover the truth about an abortion clinic.

Who has the moral high ground? Who will speak the truth? John Barret, who once despised his father, is becoming more like him every day. At first he fights against his calling, then at last, he fights against injustice.

Prophet was published in 1992 by Crossway Books. Peretti deals with issues some of us are afraid to think of. He cuts to the core and helps us process some of the harsh truths of life. Peretti uses John Barret to invite us into an alarming reality only God fully comprehends.


House by Frank E. Peretti and Ted Dekker
House by Frank E. Peretti and Ted Dekker

House is a co-authored horror with Ted Dekker, another acclaimed Christian author of supernatural thrillers. Dekker’s novels are characterized by the battle between good and evil. Reading this co-authored book is like eating a sandwich buttered on both sides.

The Singleton’s are on their way to marriage counseling. They take a detour at the advice of a highway patrolman and after having car troubles, check in at a local inn. The inn is inescapable, and it traps them with other strangers, as a man in a mask attempts to kill them. The captives receive these house rules: they have to kill one person to be set free.

House was published in 2006 by WestBow Press. House is a true page-turner, keeping readers captive with its suspense and surprising plot. Although it ties in to Dekker’s Books of History Chronicles, of his Paradise books, it is a standalone novel.

Frank E. Peretti’s novels have sold over 15 million copies and some of his novels have been turned into movies, like House, for example. If you love reading supernatural thrillers and you don’t want to waste your time on a low-grade novel, Peretti is the way to go.