Halloween is coming! It is time to think about options to have for everyone. Here are 5 must-have Gluten-Free options.

5 Must-Have Gluten-Free Candies For Halloween.
5 Must-Have Gluten-Free Candies For Halloween.

Halloween should be a sweet night for everyone. But not everyone is capable to eat the same. There are many people with different special feeding regimes. And we all have the right to celebrate and have a sweet night. For that reason, we need to raise awareness and try to have options for everyone!

Enjoy Life Candies

Enjoy Life is a gluten-free brand with many options.
Enjoy Life is a gluten-free brand with many options. Original photo from @enjoylifefoods on Instagram.

Enjoy Life is an incredible brand because it is an allergen-free brand. Their food options are not only gluten-free, but they are also dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free, among others. This is important because when you have Celiac Disease you might develop other allergies. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, this is one of the 2020 Halloween gluten-free candies list. And that is not surprising considering that the brand is safe and certified.

This gluten-free brand produces snacks and candies with all-natural ingredients. They use ingredients like quinoa, algal protein, cane sugar, and concentrated fruit juices. It makes their products not only safe but healthier. For example, cane sugar has a few more nutrients than refined sugar. And concentrated fruit juices bring moisture to the baked products, without using dairy products.

Enjoy life is a brand that is aware of the fact that gluten-free and allergy-free options are needed everywhere. They have lines focused on each holiday or celebration. And Halloween is such an example of that. The brand offers many Halloween candy options. They have mini chocolate bars, mini brownies, chewy bars, cookies, and more. And their products are quite affordable compared to other options. Also, you can find their products in many supermarkets like Walmart, Target, and Whole Foods.

Hershey’s Chocolates

Hershey's is a chocolate brand that offers gluten-free options.
Hershey’s is a chocolate brand that offers gluten-free options. Original photo from pixabay.com.

Hershey’s is one of the most popular chocolate brands worldwide. They are actually one of the biggest chocolate manufacturing companies in the U.S. This is a brand that has been on the market for over 126 years! That is why the offer tons of chocolate products. This brand innovates on flavors, ingredients, and presentations. Hershey’s offers chocolate bars, syrups, chips, and different flavors and lines. Obviously one of the biggest their famous kisses. And guess what? some of their products are gluten-free!

Okay, Hershey’s is not a full gluten-free focused brand. But some of their products do are labeled and certified gluten-free. According to BeyondCeliac, one of the biggest celiac disease organization in the U.S., there are some of the Hershey’s products that are safe to eat. On their gluten-free candy list, you can find the names of the products that are certified gluten-free, and many of those are from Hershey’s.

Also, Hershey’s is a brand compromised with the labeling of their products. Because they keep an updated list on their website with their gluten-free certified options. Some of those are Hershey’s milk chocolate bars and kisses and Reese’s Peanut butter cups (excluding seasonal products). Also, their special dark chocolates and Hershey’s milk chocolate nuggets are gluten-free. And all Hershey’s Almond Joy and Mounds bars (excluding Joy pieces candy) and Heath chocolate bars are gluten-free too. And as an extra tip, obviously, avoid all the cookies and cream options!

Jelly Belly Candies

Jelly Belly candies are also a gluten-free candy option for this Halloween.
Jelly Belly candies are also a gluten-free candy option for this Halloween. Original photo from jellybelly.com.

Jelly Belly is one of those candy brands we all know and love. They have tons of candy products, like their famous Jelly Beans, and gummies. But one of the things not many people know about the brand is that they are also a gluten-free friendly brand. Well, not only gluten-free, but their products are also dairy-free, peanut-free, and vegetarian friendly. And that is really amazing considering that Jelly Belly is not a brand focused on special feeding regimes. But the fact that they take them into account is really awesome.

According to the brand’s official website, the Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free, peanut-free, and fat-free. For that reason, the products are part of the Celiac Disease Foundation and BeyondCealic‘s gluten-free candies lists. This is an option for those people that prefer candies instead of chocolates. And the fact that their products do not contain gelatin makes them safer. Because some times gelatin may contain gluten.

But it is important to take something into account. At the gluten-free candy lists of both organizations, the product that appears from Jelly Belly is specifically the Jelly Beans. So I would recommend to only focus on that product and not to try with other products.

Tootsie Rolls

Tootsie Rolls, a gluten-free option for Halloween. Original photo from Wikimedia Commons.

This is also a regular candy that is also a gluten-free option. Tootsie rolls are an all-time favorite candy. They are produced by Tootsie Roll Industries. They only produce candies, mostly popsicles, and tootsie rolls. And that is important because the possibilities of cross-contamination in the production process are less. Tootsie rolls are a great option because they are a chewy candy that the company certifies as gluten-free.

According to the company’s official web page, all their products are gluten-free. Tootsie rolls don’t use gluten on any of their products. The company doesn’t use wheat, rye, oats, barley, or any component that contains gluten. So all of their products are safe gluten-free candy options.

Also, the Celiac Disease Foundation includes tootsie rolls products on their 2020 Gluten-Free Halloween treats list. According to the organization, this is a safe option because the company itself certifies not even their conveyor belts are exposed to gluten. That means there is no glute contain ingredients in the entire production process for all products. The Beyond Celiac organization also includes tootsie rolls as a gluten-free candy option. So it is safe to eat their products.

Nestle’s Products

Some of Nestle's products are gluten-free candy options.
Some of Nestle’s products are gluten-free candy options. Original photo from nestleusa.com.

Nestle is a really popular and recognized brand. The brand produces all kinds of foods and products. Most of their options are regular options. But even when they are not a brand specialized in gluten-free foods, they do have gluten-free options. To be more specific, the brand labels some of their candies and chocolates as gluten-free. Mostly based on the fact that they don’t use gluten contain ingredients to make them.

Something really important to take into account on this brand is to verify the labels and the ingredients of each product. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation’s Halloween list of treats, there are specific products as gluten-free options. So, beware of the fact that not every Nestle product is an option to eat. Some of the options the brand labels as gluten-free are mostly chocolates. For example the Raisinets, the Butter finger bars only on their original flavor, the Nips, among others.

According to the Beyond Celiac Organization, also the Goobers, the Wonka Pixy Sticks and the Sno-caps are gluten-free options. But again, it is key to check the ingredients on each product. Not only to know if they may be gluten-free or not but also to check other ingredients, because the brand does not list the top 8 allergens.


So, there you got, three gluten-free candy options for Halloween! As you can see, some of those options are also regular and popular candies. Did you know it? Well, Celiac Disease doesn’t have to make Halloween scarier or darker. It is just about trying to think about others and offering options for them too. And the best part is that many other people can also eat those options. So, let’s make this Halloween an all-inclusive Halloween!